Members | Sign In
All Forums > Rules and Mechanics
avatar

Differential contests and combat

posted Nov 10, 2012 17:00:46 by MichaelLewis
I got a question about the differential roll and combat.

If I attack with a 68% in broadsword and I roll a 57, this is a success.
My opponent attempts to parry with their broadsword skill of 52% with his sword and rolls a 32, which is also a success.

Both combatants succeeded. I succeeded with a higher number. Do I do damage? Or does he parry and negate my attack?
page   1
5 replies
avatar
VaughanCockell said Nov 10, 2012 17:52:40
You both succeeded, Differential rolls do not include comparing for higher roll. You would do damage but he can reduce it based on the comparative size of the weapons involved. As they are both the same type, the parry will cancel all the damage.

So in this combat you a attack, and your broadsword clangs off your opponent's broadsword as he parries the blow away.
avatar
MichaelLewis said Nov 10, 2012 18:16:25

So if I had a smaller weapon like a short sword, he would do 1/2 damage?

And if it did, what would it damage? The weapon or the character?


avatar
MichaelLewis said Nov 10, 2012 18:17:19
It would have been nice if a explicit example would have been in the rule book.
avatar
DanTrue said Nov 10, 2012 18:33:46
It would damage the character on a random location - parrying does not damage the weapon (if it did, it would be a badly designed weapon indeed or a bad user). To damage the weapon you need to explicitly target the weapon (for instance if the opponent is out of reach) or use the damage weapon special effect.

I believe there are several examples located in the margins?

- Dan
avatar
SteveLieb said Dec 26, 2012 16:52:31
I think Michael's question is about the first example, and then if the attacker was using the short sword instead of a broad sword.

Michael, if I understand your question correctly, no, the defender never damages the attacker (save for some special effect chosen).

The attacker spends an AP point to attack.
The defender decides if they are going to spend an AP to actively defend (if they have AP left).
(Essentially the defender is limited to trying to parry, or evading.)
The attacker rolls, and if the defender is actively defending, defender also rolls.
They both compare their rolls vs their applicable skills.
Using page 143 table, if the attacker fails or fumbles, there's no damage delivered to the defender.*
Assuming the defender was parrying: If the defender's success equals or exceeds the attacker's, the attack is presumed to be parried - with the incoming damage totally, partially, or not blocked, depending on a comparison of the att vs def weapon sizes.
No matter what, the 'defending' roll is never about applying damage to the attacker (unless there's a special effect that does so).
*I suspect the table might be a typo, it seems that if the attacker fails but the defender fumbles, the attacker should still get to pick an effect, even if there's no actual weapon damage delivered.

So if I understand your question above correctly, then the roll of combat skills is NOT an "exchange" of blows - it's an offensive action being opposed by a defensive action. Even if the attacker has a small weapon vs a large, and the defender gets an 'equivalent success' roll (ie both normal successes), the attacker doesn't take any damage. Them initiating the attack makes it a one-way transaction, if you get my meaning. The defender's next turn will be the chance they get to spend AP to initiate their OWN attack.

Does that help, or did I totally misunderstand your question.
Login below to reply: