Members | Sign In
All Forums > Rules and Mechanics

Further Discussion on Elementals: Summoning

posted Jan 17, 2013 23:24:28 by jackpersona42
I feel certain I posted this already, so if it's a duplicate, mods, please feel free to delete...

I'm trying to enumerate the ways in which an elemental can be brought into a situation by a character.

Theists have Elemental Summoning, which brings it to this plane and gives the caster control all at once. Miraculous indeed.

Animists can summon an Elemental Spirit and bind it to the appropriate element - or manifest it through their own body with terrifying results.

Am I following correctly that Sorcerers can use Evoke to bring them to this plane, and then Dominate to control them?
page   1
3 replies
bluefenix42 said Jan 18, 2013 00:53:46
That all sounds right to me. I may have also read somewhere that Animate (substance) (possibly combined with Shape (substance)) could potentially be used to simulate an elemental, but with no spirit driving it the caster still has to focus on controlling it round by round.
SebastianJansson said Jan 18, 2013 15:32:26
A Sorcerer could use Evoke to bring them tho this plane, and combine the Evoke spell with the Dominate spell to gain control over it. At least that's how I would do it.
jackpersona42 said Jan 19, 2013 02:05:44
I'd forgotten about combining spells. That does make sense, why give it a turn on this plane of existence to get ticked off at you when you can bring him over on your side. Smart.
Login below to reply: