Members | Sign In
All Forums > Rules and Mechanics
avatar

Shield Blocking and other questions

posted Mar 13, 2013 08:03:23 by barry
Hi there - if a Shield blocks an attack, does the attacker still get a special Maneuver?

If you are on a horse and someone fires an arrow at you, can you still evade - is it limited to your ride skill and does it take an action?

Thanks

page   1
4 replies
avatar
PeteNash said Mar 13, 2013 08:13:35
"Hi there - if a Shield blocks an attack, does the attacker still get a special Maneuver?"

Yes.

"If you are on a horse and someone fires an arrow at you, can you still evade - is it limited to your ride skill and does it take an action?"

Yes you can Evade but at the cost of throwing yourself from the mount (see p151). It is limited by your Ride skill (assuming you don't have the Mounted Combat trait see p135), and does cost an action.
avatar
barry said Mar 13, 2013 08:20:07
Cheers - so effectively the Shield just blocks the damage but the attacking player can be clever and try and trip etc.

avatar
PeteNash said Mar 13, 2013 09:05:37
Yep! :)
avatar
DanTrue said Mar 13, 2013 09:22:20
Just to clarify, if by "blocking" you mean passive warding, then yes. If the shield is actively used to parry, then the attacker only gets a special effect if he got a critical. In that way shield work like any other weapon - just with larger size.

- Dan
Login below to reply: