Members | Sign In
All Forums > Rules and Mechanics
avatar

Opening/Closing Range

posted Mar 16, 2013 10:57:48 by Chris
Page 158: Closing & Opening Range
Opening Range states ‘Opening Range works in the same way as Closing Range – but obviously in reverse’.

Let’s say the longer reach weapon chooses to open the range. Can therefore, the attacker with the shorter reach weapon, choose to attack him, using the latter of the Change Range Combat Action as depicted on page 158?

Also, can you use the ‘Withdraw’ Special Effect to open the range to the optimum for the longer weapon? Withdraw just mentions backing off completely from the melee.
[Last edited Mar 16, 2013 10:58:04]
"This is where we hold them! This is where we fight! This is where they die!"
page   1
5 replies
avatar
RangerDan said Mar 16, 2013 16:47:34
I think yes, if someone tries to open range his opponent can choose to attack as described on p 158.

As for Withdraw, it is used for backing out of melee. Check the Open Range special effect though, i think it does what you want and is otherwise identical to Withdraw.
avatar
DanTrue said Mar 16, 2013 17:40:05
If A tries to open the range against B, then B can choose to attempt to keep the range static (opposed evade) or simply hit A (attacking against A's evade roll). Exactly similar to closing range.

SE 'Open Range' changes the range. 'Withdraw' disengages completely.

- Dan
avatar
Chris said Mar 17, 2013 12:32:06
Ok I understand the Withdraw question/answer, thank you for that, but still a bit unsure with the closing range reply.

I'm not asking if B can attempt to keep the range static, I'm asking, can B attack A if A tries to open the range?

B can attack A if A tries to close the range, and the rules say Opening is the same - I just wanted to confirm that it was the same in all options available.

In other words, the rules clearly state that B can attempt to attack, when A closes range, but they don't specifically say B can attack when A opens the range.

So can B attack when A opens the range?

The reason for my asking about this particular aspect of the rules, is because, it makes sense that B can try an attack in the first example (i.e. when A is closing), but it isn't so clearly cut when A is moving away (opening range) from B.
[Last edited Mar 17, 2013 12:33:44]
"This is where we hold them! This is where we fight! This is where they die!"
avatar
DanTrue said Mar 17, 2013 13:46:59
Exactly similar to closing range.


So, yes. When A tries to open the range, B gets the choice between keeping the range or attacking him.

- Dan
avatar
Chris said Mar 17, 2013 15:43:03
Thanks for clarifying
"This is where we hold them! This is where we fight! This is where they die!"
Login below to reply: